Searching For a High North Hero 2024

Diane Hirshberg og Anu Fredrikson.
High North Hero 2023 Diane Hirshberg and leader of the High North Hero commitee Anu Fredrikson. Hirshberg received the award during the High North Dialogue conferense in Bodø, Northern Norway in April. (Photo: Trine Jonassen)

Every year, the High North Center for Business and Governance awards the High North Hero Award to someone who has a positive impact in the north.

The High North Center at the Nord University Business School is now taking nominations for the international High North Hero Award. The jury is now hoping for suggestions from all over the world.

This is the 7th time the award is presented.

The award was created in 2016 as an annual recognition of an individual, a company or an organization that has had a positive impact on business and economic development in the Arctic, and is handed out during the High North Dialogue Conference in Bodø, this year as a part of the Arctic Congress Bodø 2024.

In 2023, the award was given to Diane Hirshberg, Director and Professor of Education Policy at the Institute of Social and Economic Research at University of Alaska Anchorage, and Vice-President Academic, University of the Arctic.

She received the prize for her engagement and contribution in research, education and social and societal development in the Arctic through international cooperation.

Every year, the public is invited to nominate candidates. Citizens from any country in the world are eligible to nominate candidates for the prize and to win the prize and prize money of NOK 50 000 (USD 5000 approximately).

There is no requirement that the nominee is from the Arctic or resides in the Arctic. The intention of the Award is to highlight the efforts of a person or an organization whose work has a positive impact in the circumpolar north. Self-nominations are also accepted. The public may nominate an individual, a company or an organization that meets at least one of the criteria.

More information about the High North Hero award, criteria for nomination and send your nominee here.

Deadline for nomination is April 20, 2024.

Also read