Arctic Observers: Shaping Regional Interests

"Most are motivated by economic and business opportunities."
Last May, the Arctic Council granted Observer status to six new nations, including China, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, and Singapore. Now housing 12 Observer states, the intergovernmental forum created in 1996 to promote cooperation and coordination among Arctic states, has drawn more attention around the world, Sophie des Beauvais writes in a blog post at

 "Though many argue their motivations are pure—scientific and environmental—most are motivated by economic and business opportunities. Of course, their fate hangs in the hands of eight Arctic nations, which are currently debating the role non-Arctic states can and should play in shaping the future of the region."