President of Iceland on List of Longest-Serving Leaders

He has been president for 18 years.

President of Iceland Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson is number 18 on the Washington Post’s list of longest-serving heads of state, published on Tuesday, Iceland Review reports.

Ólafur Ragnar has been president since 1996, a total 18 years. 

At the top of the list is President of Cameroon Paula Biya, who has been in power since 1982. The leaders of Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Zimbabwe and Iran are also in the top five. President of Russia Vladimir Putin has been in power for 15 consecutive years, which includes his time as prime minister.




Stay on top, click here for our weekly newsletter: