Russia to Appoint Honorary Consul in Greenland

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov last week received Danish Foreign Minister Jeppe Kofod in Moscow for talks about a.o. security in the Arctic. (Photo: Russian MFA)

After consulting with Greenland’s self-rule authorities, the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs has approved Russia’s creating a position as honorary consul in Nuuk.

Russia wants to have a diplomatic presence in Nuuk and will appoint an honorary consul to Greenland’s capital, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said at a joint press conference with Danish Foreign Minister Jeppe Kofod (S) in Moscow last week.

The Russian request was received in February 2020, according to Greenlandic daily Sermitsiaq, which refers to information provided by the Self-Rule Authorities.

Furthermore, the paper says the Danish MFA approved the application in April following consultations with the Self-Rule Authorities. Only formalities remain before the candidate may officially resume his or her position.

Earlier this year, the USA re-established its diplomatic presence on the island with the opening of an American consulate in Nuuk. However, there is no question about opening a Russian consulate in Greenland.

There are 11 honorary consuls in Greenland, representing a total of 14 countries.


This article was originally published in Norwegian and has been translated by HNN's Elisabeth Bergquist.